Second Category of Zaawil Arhaam

Posted on

The second category of zaawil arhaam consists of ascendants who are not already zaawil furoodh or `asabaat and may only inherit if the first category does not exist. This category can be split up into the following two classes:

Class 1: Maternal grandfather

Class 2:

  1. The maternal grandfather of the mayyit’s father – Father’s Mother’s Father
  2. The paternal grandfather of the mayyit’s mother – Mother’s Father’s Father
  3. Mother’s maternal grandfather – Mother’s Mother’s Father
  4. Mother’s paternal grandmother – Mother’s Father’s Mother

Read the rest of this entry »